The dentition - The arrangement, number, and type of teeth in the mouth. In young children, primary dentition comprises 20 teeth (incisors, canines, and molars). These teeth are replaced between the ages of 6 and 13 years by the secondary (permanent) dentition.

Secondary dentition comprises 32 teeth (incisors, canines, premolars, and molars). Often, the third molars (wisdom teeth) do not erupt until the age of 18–25, or even older in some cases; sometimes, they fail to erupt at all. (See also eruption of teeth.)


Post a Comment